|Wed Jun 19 @10:30AM - 02:00PM|
Heffernan’s Family Outfitters: Closing Down Sale.
|Sat Jun 22 @12:00PM - |
Golden Triangle -Talmoi Picnic Races
|Sun Jun 23 @ 8:30AM - |
Garah Community Markets
|Wed Jun 26 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM|
Evening View Club: monthly Meeting
|Sun Jun 30 @11:30AM - 03:00PM|
Fairview Retirement Village presents: Fairview Fete.
|Sat Jul 06|
Pallamallawa Polocrosse Carnival
|Sun Jul 07 @ 8:00AM - 02:00PM|
The town of Mungindi Population: Approx. 700
Uniquely straddling the New South Wales and Queensland border, Mungindi is the only town in the Southern Hemisphere with the same name in two states. The name Mungindi comes from the language of the Indigenous people and holds the meaning 'Water hole by the River'.
Mungindi is located 120km north west of Moree on the Carnarvorn Highway. As the shortest route from Sydney to Darwin, the Carnvarvon Highway allows you to experience the true Australian bush on your travels. So call into Mungindi and enjoy the local atmosphere.
Known to many as the sportman's paradise, Mungindi is popular for fishing and holds many other sporting activities such as swimming, tennis, pony camp, bowls, border rifle club plus many more.
Surrounded by cotton, wheat, cereal cropping and livestock farms, Mungindi is a thriving rural village which offers visitors interesting and informative farm tours when various crops are in season.
Cotton harvest begins in March and generally concludes towards the end of May, whilst the wheat harvest usually begins around Melbourne Cup Day in early November. If you wish to stay a while, accommodation is available with two hotels and one caravan park located in the town.
In recent years Mungindi has become quite a cultural destination with the Mungindi Music Festival and the Mungindi Art Competition taking place on alternate years.
Both of these fantastic events attract enthusiasts from all over Australia as locals and visitors celebrate, learn and participate together.
For something completely different, come along each year to the Mungindi Mud Trial! Here you'll see specially constructed cars and trucks thrash, push and storm their way around a racetrack made entirely of thick gooey black-soil mud. There's even a foot race or two for those game enough to have a go!
Historical Tourist Attractions
The One Ton Post was erected by Mr John Cameron in 1881 to celebrate the completion of two long and hard years of surveys. The Post is situated three miles west of Mungindi where the border fence leaves the river and goes 700km due west on the 29th Parallel to the South Australian Border. For more information on the One Ton Post, call into the Mungindi Shire Council Office located in the Rural Transaction Centre on St George Street.
Many items of interest are on display at the local History Park situated on the outskirts of Mungindi. Inspection is by appointment only.
Situated approximately 11kms from town on the Moree-Mundindi Road is the historic site of the Neeworra Wine Shanty. A few rusty tins, a handful of gravel on an old pathway and the memory of a once proud peppertree are all that now remains of an isolated wine shanty which was part of a little village called Neeworra. Its first name was Paradise - so named by a boatload of thankful people escaping from the 1890 flood. Paradise it must have seemed indeed as they disembarked at the sandhill not far from the site of the old Whalan Bridge. It was not long before houses and a wine shanty were built as this site was adopted as the official mail exchange station for the coaches operating between Moree and Mungindi. Paradise was first licensed for wine in 1898 and was operated by Herb Collier. Paradise continued until 1914 when, with the coming of the railway siding named Neeworra which was gazetted on October 1, 1913. This site, which is between the Moringa and the Kraal turnoffs soon boasted a Station Master's residence, ticket office, goods shed and trucking yards. Following this, six residences, a small school and the Post Office store and Wine Shanty were built. The shanty was built by Jim Dawson and was rented then for One British pound per week. Paradise gradually disappeared, and only Neeworra remained as the hub of activity for the area. About 1938 when electric power and reticulated water came back to Mungindi, all the inhabitants moved there and the Neeworra village slowly disappeared. The school was taken to Garah for use there in about 1939. The wine shanty, railway siding and trucking yards then remained. In its heyday the shanty with its mechanical petrol bowser and peppertree, catered for the many wants and needs of the local station people and travellers alike. Although the liquor license was for wine only, there were rumours many bottles of ale were consumed from kerosene refrigerators and from under wet bags. The Wine Shanty was burnt down on August 8, 1962. It is no longer a place for a quiet ale or chat. Nor is there any mail, groceries, petrol or telephone there. Time itself has removed those more tangible things but memories will keep alive that colourful and unique meeting place for a long time to come.
Visit the old ghost town and former Cobb and Co Coach and Mail Change village. It is hard to imagine that this was once a thriving area. Dareel is situated 24km from Mungindi on the Dirranbandi Road. Mungindi and district boast many Sacred Aboriginal Sites. Appointments to visit these sites are available by contacting our local Aboriginal Elders.